North Yemen: living under daily coalition airstrikes
الحروب والنزاعات

الحروب والنزاعات

حوالي ثلث مشاريعنا مكرسة لتقديم المساعدة إلى الأشخاص الذين يعيشون في مناطق الحروب والنزاعات المسلحة، مثل اليمن وجنوب السودان وجمهورية أفريقيا الوسطى والعراق ونيجيريا وسوريا وغيرها.


عواقب الحرب
على الرغم من أن القوانين الدولية من المفترض أن تحمي الرجال والنساء والأطفال أثناء النزاعات المسلحة، فإننا غالباً ما نرى الثمن الباهظ الذي يدفعه الناس خلال هذه الأزمات. بعد أكثر من أربع سنوات من الحرب، أصبحت اليمن مثالاً على الدمار الذي ألحقته الهجمات العشوائية أو المستهدفة التي تقتل وتجرح الناس وعلى تحطيم البنية التحتية المدنية.
 

كانت غرف الطوارئ وغرف العمليات مليئة بالجرحى. لقد استقبلوا ما يقارب الـ 70 مريضاً في يوم واحد. تعاملنا مع المصابين بالرصاص والشظايا وجروح الألغام الأرضية. كان مشهدًا صادمًا للغاية للوصول إليه. هارون جيجان، منسق المشروع، تعز، اليمن، فبراير 2018

قد تُحرم المجتمعات في الحالات القصوى من الحصول على المساعدة بشكل متعمد أو تُعاقب "جماعياً" إذا اعتبرت مرتبطة بجماعة "معادية".


تتصاعد الإصابات البالغة أثناء النزاعات المسلحة مما يستدعي زيادة العمليات الجراحية والرعاية الطارئة. وبالمثل، فإن الاحتياجات الطبية المنتظمة تتصاعد مع انهيار خدمات الرعاية الصحية. لذلك تجد النساء الحوامل والأشخاص الذين يعانون من أمراض مزمنة، مثل السكري أو فيروس نقص المناعة البشرية أنفسهم في وضع صعب. ومع ندرة السلع، ترتفع أسعار المواد الغذائية الأساسية ومواد الإغاثة، في حين أن الخوف، وانعدام الأمن، والخسارة يولدون ضائقة نفسية.


نشهد بانتظام زيادة في العنف الجنسي أثناء النزاع. ففي بعض الأحيان، يتم اللجوء إلى الاغتصاب لإخضاع المجتمع المحلي. مثل ما حصل مع مجموعة من 10 نساء على الأقل ممن تعرضن للاغتصاب الجماعي في فبراير/شباط 2018 بالقرب من بوسانغوا، غرب جمهورية أفريقيا الوسطى. وبسبب استمرار النزاع في المنطقة، استغرق الأمر منهم شهرًا للحصول على الرعاية الطبية.


قد ننشئ في حالات النزاع، وبناءً على الأولويات، غرف العمليات والعيادات وبرامج التغذية ومكافحة الأوبئة والرعاية الطبية لضحايا العنف الجنسي وأجنحة الولادة إلى جانب خدمات أخرى.
 

إجبار الناس على الخروج من منازلهم


غالباً ما يقتلع النزاع الناس من منازلهم ويتسبب بنزوحهم داخل في بلدهم أو التماسهم اللجوء إلى بلد آخر. نقدّم الرعاية الطبية للنازحين جراء النزاعات، وغالباً ما نعمل في مخيمات اللاجئين والنازحين.
إن الرحلات الصعبة والظروف غير المستقرة في مكان الإقامة المؤقت تهدد الصحة والأمان. فقد يتخلف الأطفال عن مواعيد اللقاحات، ومع استمرار النساء بالإنجاب، يمكن للأمراض الموسمية مثل الملاريا أن تنشر بلا هوادة.


الأوبئة
يمكن أن يكون النزاع والنزوح محفزين للأوبئة وتفشي الأمراض، حيث أن العيش في ظروف صعبة وغير صحية يمكن أن يكون مكاناً مثاليًا لتكاثر الكوليرا أو الحصبة. لقد أدى انعدام الأمن والأنظمة الصحية المنهارة إلى إقصاء الناس عن تلقي الرعاية الصحية الوقائية، بما في ذلك اللقاحات.
فقد انخفضت تغطية التطعيم الروتينية في جمهورية أفريقيا الوسطى، على سبيل المثال، بعد انغماس البلاد في العنف وعدم الاستقرار في عام 2013. كما وانخفض معدل تغطية التطعيم ضد الحصبة من 64٪ إلى 25٪. استجابة لذلك، نظّمنا في عام 2016 حملة تطعيم شاملة مع وزارة الصحة، لتحصين 220 ألف طفل دون سن الخامسة.
 

عدم التحيز لأي طرف


لا تنحاز منظمة أطباء بلا حدود إلى أي طرف في مناطق النزاع. بل نقدم الرعاية الطبية على أساس الاحتياجات فقط، ونعمل جاهدين لمحاولة الوصول إلى الأشخاص الأكثر احتياجاً للمساعدة. كما أنه من المهم لنا التفاوض مع جميع أطراف النزاع من أجل الوصول إلى المجتمعات المتضررة وتقديم المساعدة لها.
وتتجلى إحدى الطرق التي يمكننا من خلالها الحفاظ على استقلالنا بضمان قدوم تمويلنا للعمل في مناطق النزاعات من قبل الأفراد من عامة الناس. لذلك وعلى الصعيد العالمي، نستقبل عدد قليل جداً من التمويلات الحكومية. وعند عملنا في منطاق النزاع، لا نستخدم الأموال التي نتلقاها من الحكومات التي لديها أي نوع من الارتباط مع هذا النزاع.
ورغم أننا لا ندعم أيًا من الأطراف المتنازعة، إلا أننا لسنا دائمًا متواجدين في جميع مناطقة تواجد أطراف النزاع كافة. قد يكون هذا إما بسبب عدم حصولنا على حق الوصول من جانب واحد أو أكثر من الأطراف، أو بسبب انعدام الأمن، أو لأن الاحتياجات الأساسية للسكان تتم تغطيتها.
ففي سوريا على سبيل المثال، نتمكن من العمل فقط في بعض المناطق التي تسيطر عليها جماعات معارضة مسلحة، حيث أن العنف وانعدام الأمن والهجمات على المرافق الصحية والعاملين في المجال الطبي وعدم حصولنا على تصريح حكومي بالعمل في سوريا من العقبات الرئيسية التي تحول دون توسيع الأنشطة الطبية المباشرة في جميع المناطق. 
 

المقال التالي

North Yemen: living under daily coalition airstrikes
War and conflict

War and conflict

Around one-third of our projects are dedicated to providing assistance to people living in areas of war and armed conflict such as in Yemen, South Sudan, Central African Republic, Iraq, Nigeria and Syria, among many others.

The consequences of war

Despite international laws that should protect men, women and children during armed conflict, we often see the heavy price they pay. After over four years of war, Yemen illustrates the devastation wreaked by indiscriminate or targeted attacks that kill and injure people, and shatter civilian infrastructure.

The emergency rooms and operating theatres were overflowing with wounded people. They received approximately 70 patients on one day. We treated people with bullet, shrapnel and landmine wounds. It was an extremely shocking scene to arrive at. Arunn Jegan, project coordinator, Taiz, Yemen, February 2018.

In extreme cases communities may be deliberately deprived of assistance or collectively ‘punished’ if they are seen as linked to an ‘enemy’ group.

Trauma injuries surge during armed conflict, calling for increased surgery and emergency care. Likewise, regular medical needs climb as healthcare services collapse. Pregnant women, or people with chronic diseases such as diabetes or HIV, are left particularly vulnerable. As commodities become scarce, the price of basic food and relief items soar, while fear, insecurity, and loss generate psychological distress.

We regularly see an increase in sexual violence during conflict. Sometimes, rape is used to subdue a community. For example, a group of at least 10 women were gang-raped in February 2018 near Bossangoa, western Central African Republic. With ongoing conflict in the area, it took them a month to get medical care.

Between May 2017 and September 2018, our teams treated 2,600 victims of sexual violence in the town of Kananga in Kasai Central province, Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC). Eighty per cent reported having been raped by armed men.

In conflict settings, depending on the priorities, we may set up operating theatres, clinics, nutrition programmes, epidemic control, medical care for victims of sexual violence, and maternity wards, among other services.

Forced from home

Conflict often uproots people from their homes, leaving them displaced in their own country or as refugees in another. We provide medical care to those who are displaced by conflict, often in refugee and displaced people's camps.

Treacherous journeys and precarious conditions at the place of destination jeopardise health and well-being. Children miss their vaccinations, women continue to have babies, seasonal diseases such as malaria relentlessly kick-in.

Epidemics

Conflict and displacement can be catalysts for epidemics and disease outbreaks. Living in cramped and unsanitary conditions can be an ideal breeding ground for cholera or measles. Insecurity and collapsed health systems cut people off from receiving preventative health care, including vaccinations.

In CAR, for example, routine vaccination coverage plummeted after the country plunged into violence and instability in 2013. The vaccination coverage rate for measles fell from 64 per cent to 25 per cent. In response, in 2016 we organised a mass vaccination campaign with the Ministry of Health, immunising 220,000 children under five years old.

We don't take sides

In conflict zones, MSF does not take sides. We provide medical care based on needs alone, and work hard to try and reach the people most in need of help. It’s crucial for us to talk with all parties in a conflict so as to obtain access and provide assistance to affected communities.

One of the ways we can maintain our independence is to ensure that all our funding for work in conflicts comes from private individuals in the general public. Globally we accept very few government grants, and in conflict zones we do not use funds from governments that have any sort of tie with the conflict.

Despite not supporting any of the warring parties, we are not always present on all sides to the conflict. This may be either because access is not granted to us by one or more of the parties, or due to insecurity, or because the main needs of the population are already covered.

In Syria, for example, we are only able to work in some areas controlled by armed opposition groups. Violence and insecurity, attacks on health facilities and medical workers, and the absence of government authorisation to work in Syria have been some of the main obstacles to extending direct medical activities to all areas.

Up Next