Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP)

The Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) is a trade agreement negotiated between the US and 11 other Pacific Rim nations: Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore and Vietnam.

The TPP was signed in February 2016 after years of secretive negotiations, but it has not yet been ratified or implemented in any of the member countries. The TPP has been repeatedly referred to as “the worst trade deal ever for access to medicines”.

MSF remains extremely concerned about the inclusion of dangerous provisions in the TPP and other trade agreements that would dismantle public health safeguards enshrined in international law and restrict access to price-lowering generic medicines for millions of people.


Learn more:

HASHTAG: #BadDealForMedicine

What you can do:

READ: Five reasons why MSF and more than 50 other organisations are asking governments to reject the TPP

ASK: If you live in any of the negotiating countries, ask your government to reject the TPP.


Press release
"The fight to stop this irresponsible trade deal from going into effect is far from over,” said...
Press release
“The U.S. has abandoned its previous commitments to protect health in its trade policy,” said Judit...
Press release
“If these policies are allowed to continue, middle-income countries face nothing short of a...